Skip to content

Country facts

Facts about Denmark

Fold alle afsnit ud
Fold alle afsnit ind

Geography and Demograpics

Area: 43.098 km2
Capital: Copenhagen
Population: 5,584,758 (2012)
Language: Danish
Time zone: CET (GMT+1)


Form of government: Constitutional monarchy
Head of state: Queen Margrethe II
Prime Minister: Lars Løkke Rasmussen (Venstre)
Next general election (at latest): June 2019


Currency: Danish Kroner (DKK) 
GDP per capita: 45,800 euro 

Denmark is situated in Northern Europe and is the smallest of the Scandinavian countries. The Kingdom of Denmark also has 2 autonomous provinces – the Faroe Islands and Greenland in the North Atlantic. The latter is over 500 times larger than Denmark but has 100 times less people.

Denmark is well known for its strong welfare state with a large but effective public sector and collective bargaining on the labour market. As a consequence Denmark has one of the most egalitarian societies in the world. In 2012, Denmark was voted yet again 'the Happiest Country in the World'.

For more information about Denmark, the Danes and Danish culture please use the links in the menu to the left. For information about travelling to Denmark, studying or working in Denmark please look under travel and residence.

Fold alle afsnit ud
Fold alle afsnit ind